October 8th, 2020

Anti-Blackness in a White Supremacist America

Morning Plenary - 

Anti-Blackness in a White Supremacist America 

9:00 - 9:30am PT | 10:00 - 10:30am MT | 11:00 - 11:30am CT |12:00 - 12:30pm ET

White supremacy is a historic and present-day system of anti-Blackness grounded upon three pillars: 1. the genocide of Native Americans; 2. the forced labor of African peoples through chattel slavery; and 3. the control of primarily women's sexuality and reproductive rights. White supremacy was so effective as a system of racism that even today, the majority of Americans think of race as a biological definition rather than a social construction reinforcing the false notion of white superiority. What is white supremacy exactly? How does white supremacy impact Black America's understanding of authoritarian social movements like white nationalism and how do we mute its presence within our own movements for social, political, and economic equality?

Moderator: 

Lecia Brooks, Chief of Staff, Southern Poverty Law Center

Speakers:

Eric K. Ward, Executive Director, Western States Center

Ash-Lee Woodard Henderson, activist and Co-Executive Director, The Highlander Research and Education Center

Transition Break (15 minutes)

The Permanence of White Supremacy in Black America

9:45 - 10:45am PT | 10:45 - 11:45am MT | 11:45 - 12:45pm CT |12:45 - 1:45pm ET 

Systemic racism; have things gotten better? Black wealth is still at 5%, even from 50 years ago compared to white. 75 years after the passage of the major civil rights legislation in the United States, Black America faces many of the same economic, political and social challenges as the two generations before it. The ability of Black America to continue its push for racial equity in the U.S. is critical to containing the growth of white nationalism. This workshop will help Black leaders sharpen their skills and strategies to address structural racism and advance racial equity. Unlike diversity training which primarily focuses on interpersonal relations and understanding, this training emphasizes how to challenge and change institutional racial inequities.

Speaker:

Glenn Harris, President, Race Forward and Publisher, Colorlines

Break - 30 Min 

How White Nationalism Undermines Black Progress

11:15 - 12:15pm PT | 12:15 - 1:15pm MT | 1:15 - 2:15pm CT |2:15 - 3:15pm ET

Since its emergence as a social movement following the significant victories of the 1960s civil rights era, white nationalism has utilized political and racial violence, bigoted propaganda, and the ballot box to roll back the gains. Is there a difference between white supremacy and white nationalism? What are its core objectives, strategy and tactics? How have some segments of the Black community responded to white supremacy and rising white nationalism?  How should Black communities respond to white nationalist violence, mobilizations, and political organizing?

 

Speakers:

Eric K. Ward, Executive Director, Western States Center

Raven Hodges, Research Analyst, Intelligence Project, Southern Poverty Law Center  (they/them/theirs) 

Closing Plenary - 

Reducing the Impact of Racism and Organized Hate: From the Inside and Outside

12:30 - 1:00pm PT | 1:30 - 2:00pm MT | 2:30 - 3:00pm CT |3:30 - 4:00pm ET

Speakers:

Lecia Brooks, Chief of Staff, Southern Poverty Law Center

logo-white-stacked_2x.png

SPLC is a nonprofit, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization (EIN: 63-0598743)

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

400 Washington Avenue

Montgomery, AL 36104

© 2020 A Special Gathering for SPLC